In my work I am often asked “what is the best way to heal your gut?”. In this post, I’m going to break down some easy ways to get on the path of good gut health. If you’re reading this post, when people say to …
Month: April 2019
I was inspired to develop this Three Bean Salad recipe due to a recent consultant job I’ve been doing with a magnesium supplement brand. Learning very specific information about magnesium for my work with OMG Nutrition has made me realize just how important this nutrient …
How to Order Gluten-Free Coffee Drinks
I wrote this post on how to order gluten-free coffee drinks at coffee shops for two reasons.
One, because I had someone request it and two, I want you to have safe coffee experiences. Not to mention my blood is practically coffee so it just seemed like a great topic to discuss.
Is Coffee Safe for Celiac & NCGS?
Gluten wise, most coffee is safe for celiac and gluten sensitive people.
It’s important to keep in mind that caffeine is a well-known digestive system irritant. If you get a stomachache or if coffee just doesn’t sit well with you, it could be because it’s upsetting your stomach.
It’s also important to know that caffeine sensitivity is a thing. Some people are just very sensitive to it and need to avoid it. (If you’re caffeine sensitive, you might consider a half calf coffee, or my favorite Teeccino’s dandelion coffee (affiliate link). It’s seriously the best coffee alternative I’ve tried, just be mindful that not all Teeccino products are gluten-free).
With those things in mind, again, coffee is generally safe for people living a gluten-free lifestyle. Meaning yes, coffee is celiac safe (assuming it’s not processed on the same equipment as gluten (which is rare) and that it doesn’t have gluten-containing additives).
Some people suggest that coffee is cross-reactive with gluten, if you want to learn more about that please read this post!
How to Order Gluten-Free Coffee Drinks at Coffee Shops:
Avoid Frappes and other Blended Drinks
I hate to break it to you but a lot of these drinks are not safe. Even if the frappe or blended drink doesn’t have gluten, that doesn’t mean that your drink is safe.
Other blended drinks or frappes could contain gluten and blenders aren’t always cleaned thoroughly in between making drinks leaving you at risk for cross-contact. You might ask that they thoroughly wash the blender before making your drink to avoid this cross-contact.
Be Cautious of Flavored Syrups
In general, I try to avoid any flavored syrup unless I can read the ingredient label. Caramel syrup is one of the worst offenders when it comes to not always being gluten-free.
If you don’t feel like making an effort to read the ingredient label to check it’s safety, then avoid flavored syrups.
Be Careful of Drinks with Steamed Milk
Many coffee shops use the same steaming wand to steam all drinks, often only rinsing them in between use.
If there is a flavored drink being steamed that isn’t gluten-free, it leaves your drink at risk for cross-contact.
Additional GF Coffee Ordering Tips:
If you’re attending a fairly popular chain, chances are they have allergen info posted. Try doing a simple google search for the chain and their allergen menu.
Call ahead and ask to see if the barista or manager knows if anything is gluten-free or can be made safely.
Try going to places that only serve gluten-free drinks! (You can call ahead to find out)
A Dietitians Gluten-Free Coffee Order
My favorite celiac-friendly coffee order? An iced coffee with cream and simple syrup.
Your order might look difference, but I generally keep things simple when I order. I also don’t shy away from cream and sugar because they help me feel more satisfied by my coffee experience.
Want More Guidance on Ordering Food?
Need more guidance on ordering gluten-free food and drinks? I developed the cross-contact guide to help you do just that! Click below to check it out!
Calcium rich breakfasts (and meals in general) are important to make sure that your nourishing your bones and body appropriately. This list of calcium-rich breakfast recipes is dairy-free, plant-based, and gluten-free. Adequate calcium is especially important for those experiencing impaired absorption, like those who are …
Garlic Pinto Bean Toast
This garlic pinto bean toast is a plant-based and calcium rich alternative to your avocado or simple buttered toast. It’s packed full of flavor with a balance of crispy and soft textures that are sure to rock your world!
Why Garlic Pinto Bean Toast?
Not only is this Bean Toast delicious but it’s nutritious.
The beans on this toast add flavor, creaminess, and a plant-source of calcium and iron. Not to mention the vitamin c from the lemon juice in this recipe will help you absorb the iron! Both calcium and iron are nutrients of concern when it comes to celiac disease so I thought it fitting to share this recipe with you!
Wondering where beans on toast came from?
Where did Beans on Toast Come From?
We’ve had avocado toast, buttered toast, peanut butter toast and now beans on toast?
Where did this idea come from? Britain! The Heinz company claims that invented the dish as marketing ploy in 1927 and it stuck!
Beans are a cheap source of protein so it was offered as a breakfast alternative during World War II. Today, many people still enjoy it.
And now Americans are starting to explore the world of beans on toast too! This recipe calls for pinto beans, but you can realistically use any kind of bean in this recipe.
So let’s try it!
Garlic Pinto Bean Toast
- 4 slices gluten-free and vegan bread
- 1 can pinto beans rinsed and drained
- 1 tsp garlic powder
- 1-2 tbsp lemon juice
- salt and pepper to taste
- fresh cilantro for garnish
- Toast your bread on a tray in the oven until crispy or in a dedicated gluten-free toaster
- While your bread is toasting, mash together the pinto beans, lemon juice, garlic powder, salt, and pepper
- Once your gluten-free bread is toasted spread the mashed bean mixture on top and garnish with fresh cilantro