Celiac and Bloating Celiac and bloating often accompany each other. In fact, bloating is a common symptom of celiac disease. In this post I will cover what celiac bloating is, why it happens, and how to cope with it. Celiac Disease 101 In order to …
Month: August 2019
These Salmon Cucumber Sushi Cups come together faster than you can boil rice for real sushi. They are grain-free and gluten-free (so trendy I know!). I love sushi but I don’t love rolling it. That’s right, I said it. Unless I’m buying it at the …
How to Check Food Labels for Gluten
Knowing how to check food labels for gluten is an important skill for people with celiac or other gluten-related disorders.
This guide on how to check food labels for gluten will help you determine if a packaged food item is safe for someone with celiac disease.
It’s important to note that these are general standards and some people with celiac disease or NCGS have even stricter standards then listed below. If you’re buying food for someone who is living gluten-free, be sure to check with them on if the item is acceptable too.
How to Check Food Labels for Gluten
When approaching a food label, remember the acronym “CANS”:
- C – Certifications & Claims
- A – Allergen Statement / Warning
- N – Not Safe Ingredients
- S – Suspicious Ingredients
Certifications and Gluten-Free Claims
The first step to identifying gluten in food is to look for gluten-free claims and certifications on the label.
If a food product has a gluten-free claim or certification in the USA than that food item is celiac-safe per FDA law (with the exception of oats, learn more about the oats and celiac here.)
This is because per FDA law, anything with a gluten-free claim (which is “gluten-free” or “no gluten” etc.) must have <20ppm of gluten in it, which is considered celiac-safe.
In some countries, this cut-off is even lower.
If you can’t find a gluten-free claim or certification anywhere on the label, it’s time to move on to the next step!
Is there an Allergen Statement?
If gluten isn’t listed in the ingredients it’s time for the next step on checking food labels for gluten. The next step is to read the allergen statement.
There are two types of allergen statements. One of which is required per FDA guidelines and one that is voluntary.
The required allergen statement is the “contains” statement. This is the statement that clearly calls out any top 8 allergens in the food item. If a food item has a “contains wheat”, it is not safe.
The voluntary statements are what’s known as the Allergen Advisory Statements. These statements are the “may contain”, “processed on the same equipment” and “made in the same facility” claims. This statement makes things a little more complicated.
This step is very individualized. Some people will eat foods processed on the same equipment and facility as gluten, others will not. I personally will eat food processed in the same facility but not always on the same equipment.
What’s important to note about allergen advisory statements is that they have been researched to not be a good indicator of the gluten-free status of food.
Keep this in mind when deciding what you are comfortable with when reading a food label. And when in doubt, consult a celiac-specialized dietitian, like myself.
Also something to note is that the CANS acronym is in the order it’s in for a reason, so the allergen statement is irrelevant if you’ve identified a gluten-free claim or certification on the product.
If the allergen statement looks good, move on to step 3 of the CANS acronym.
Not Safe Ingredients
Next on how to check food labels for gluten is checking the label for obvious unsafe ingredients.
If you can’t find “gluten-free” anywhere on the food item or label, you need to read the ingredient list.
When reading the ingredient list you need to look for any obvious gluten-containing ingredients.
Remember the acronym “BROWS” which stands for Barley, Rye, Oats (sometimes), Wheat, and Spelt. I talk more on these foods to avoid with celiac in this post.
If you don’t see any unsafe ingredients on the label, move on to the last step.
Lastly, are there any suspicious ingredients mentioned on the food label without a gluten-free claim? These ingredients are those that might not obviously contain gluten if the label isn’t specified as gluten-free. Examples might be spices, natural flavoring, malt, and more.
For a more in-depth list of suspicious ingredients, check out my gluten-free label-reading workbook which features pocket guides, practice problems, and a FAQ section to help you build your label-reading skills.
Contact the Manufacturer (optional)
Sometimes I will contact the manufacturer or company about a food I am unsure about. I recommend this especially if you anxious or want more info. I find the best way is to call, email, or DM companies on social media.
This can help clarify any questions you might have about the gluten-free status of a food item.
Gluten-free Label-Reading Doesn't Have to be hard...
While there can be a lot more to reading food labels, I hope this post on how to check food labels for gluten has been helpful. I think it provides a solid foundation and starting point for finding safe food. Do you have any tips you want to share? Leave a comment.
Get the Celiac Label-Reading Workbook
Cross-Contact and Celiac Disease 101 Cross-contact and celiac disease go hand in hand. This is why cross-contact is a very important aspect of a gluten-free lifestyle. If you have celiac, you need to watch out for your food coming into cross-contact with gluten. What is …
Can celiac disease cause constipation? Yes, celiac disease constipation impacts many. Here’s why and how you can relieve constipation in celiac disease.