Looking for gluten-free ground beef recipes to use up that ground beef that’s been sitting in your fridge? Well, look no further: here are 10 gluten-free recipes with ground beef in them!
(This blog post was drafted by Sierra King and edited by Tayler Silfverduk)
The results are in: plain hamburger meat or ground Beef is gluten-free. All plain and fresh-cut meat has no gluten in them. However, there is always a risk for cross-contact or for gluten to be added in via seasonings.
So, be sure to read the food label of your ground beef for any gluten ingredients. And if you’re dining out and ordering something with ground beef, ask restaurant staff how they prepare their food and emphasize that your food must be separated from anything that can or does contain gluten. (Check out this post for more on how to dine out with celiac)
Ground beef can be a great addition to a gluten-free diet as it can be an affordable source of iron. Because a gluten-free diet is often low in foods typically enriched in iron and if you have celiac, iron absorption can be impaired, ground beef is a great protein option for people eating gluten-free.
Check out this post for more gluten-free iron rich foods.
The different types of ground beef rely on their fat content. Depending on your preferences and needs will dictate what kind of ground beef you will need. Below are the 4 different types of ground beef and their pros and cons:
Of note: 90% and 85% lean ground beef types can be on the pricier side. So if you’re trying to manage a tight gluten-free food budget, you may want to consider less lean options.
For the purpose of this blog post, hamburger meat and ground beef are virtually the same. You can use either in the gluten-free hamburger meat recipes of this post. However, there are some slight differences between the too. According to the USDA, the key difference is that hamburger meat can have beef fat added but ground beef cannot.
Additionally, both ground beef and hamburger meat can have seasonings added in which may rarely contain gluten, but they can’t have water, phosphates, extenders, or binders added if taking on the label of hamburger or ground beef.
Bottom-line, always check the food label for gluten, including hamburger and ground beef.
Looking for some delicious gluten-free hamburger meat recipes? Below are 10 recipes made with ground beef to help give inspiration!